Earlier this month, the Des Moines Register introduced their 2018 All-Iowa football teams. Making the team were three West Branch Bears: Jaden Hierseman, Beau Cornwell, and Tanner Lukavsky.

Hierseman, making the team as an offensive lineman, was a two-year starter at center for the Bear offensive line and a staple of the dominant front five.

Cornwell, the Bears' quarterback, kicker, punter, makes the team as a punter. Despite needing to only punt 30 times during the 2018 season, Cornwell amassed 1,032 yards, good enough for an average of 34.4 net yards per punt. The senior had a long punt of 54 yards.

Lukavsky makes the Register's All-Iowa team as an honorable mention. The junior played both ways for the Bears, starring as the teams' speedy, yet bruising, running back and an anchor of the defense at linebacker. Lukavsky totalled 1,309 yards during the 2018 season on 128 attempts, good for a whopping 10.2 yards per carry. He also rushed his way into the endzone 18 times. On the defensive side of the ball, he tallied 40.5 tackles, including 4.5 sacks.

Congratulations to these three Bears on their selection to the team!

Last month, Hierseman and Lukavsky were also selected to the IPSWA's All-State roster.